top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily- Claire N

5 Reasons Why Lisbon is the Perfect Trip for First-Time Solo Travelers



I traveled to Lisbon in January of 2019, as a stop-over, on my way to Rome to study abroad. Tap Air Portugal has a stopover program, where you can add a free stop in Lisbon or Porto, and I decided to take advantage of it.


I had previously flown internationally before; I visited London in 2015 for my 16th birthday. But, I had never been on a trip all alone. I was a little nervous, but my biggest fear was who will take my Instagram pictures. However, it worked out, with some help from strangers and strategic positions of my camera (with self-timer), I was able to capture some shots.


My entire trip felt very safe, and I’m so glad that this was my first solo trip. I think that Lisbon is perfect for first-time solo travelers, as well as women. Why?


1. It’s easy to navigate

Lisbon is a small city and while it is hilly, it is not very confusing. I used Google Maps to plan where I would visit. I added all the destinations, in order to see which to go to and in what order. It’s really helpful to plan the most efficient path and to see whether your trip is walkable. I use this in most cities I visit.




2. It’s walkable

I took the metro from the airport to the main area, where my hotel was, The 7 Hotel. But, other than that, I walked everywhere else. Lisbon is known for being hilly, so it is not for the faint of calves. There are many options if you cannot walk up the hills, including tuk-tuks, trolleys and ubers. However, once you make it up the hill you get a great view of the lovely city and the ocean.




3. There are plenty of things do to alone

My two-day trip was jam-packed. On the first day, I visited the Castelo de S. Jorge, Praca do Comerico, Santa Justa Lift and the Carmo Convent. After staying up all night on the red-eye, I was exhausted. On the second day, I traveled to Belem to see the Jeronimos Monastery, Monument to the Discoveries, the Belem Tower and Cristo Rei.


4. It has a great coffee shop and pastries culture

Portugal is known for its pastel de nata. It is an egg custard pastry. It was delicious and cheap, less than 1 Euro each. I spent a good amount of time in outdoor coffee shops drinking fresh orange juice, cappuccinos and snacking on pastel de nata. The coffee culture is great for solo travelers.


5. It’s cheap

The boutique hotel I stayed at in Lisbon cost $117 for 2 nights, The 7 Hotel. A breakfast of cappuccino, pastry, and orange juice cost 3 Euro. My fancy dinner out with an appetizer, wine and an entree was around 15 Euro. Lisbon is a cheap city!



Lisbon is just getting noticed by tourists and for good reason!! It’s a great historical and colorful city, with a lot to offer. I definitely will be returning soon!


50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page